Brussels (Jesuit college) – Collegium Societas Iesu Bruxellis
Date of first edition: first edition of Volume II, 1663
Date of this map: either 1663 or 1726-1727
Dimensions (not including margins): 46,3 x 35,4 cm
Condition rating: A+
From: Chorographia Sacra Brabantiae, 1659, Sanderus
Sanderus shows a lost pearl in the city center
From the beginning of the 17th century settled several monasteries settled in the city quarter between the Sablon and the Coudenberg. In the wake of Alexander Farnese the Jesuits came to Brussels in 1585. Four years later they bought the “court of Grimbergen” and some neighboring homes in the Ruisbroeck street to refurnish to it as a monastery. In 1604 they opened there the Saint Michael College. The construction of a church (on the site of the current “Gerechtsplein)” followed only to be completed in 1660. The buildings are spread over the area where the Lebeau street passes. In the right background is the square of the Grand Sablon.
Sanderus was born in 1586 as Sanders.
Grimbergen (abbey) – Abbatia Grimbergensis celebris et Antiqua Ordinis Praemonstratensisby Antoon Sanderus, Renier BlokhuysenPrice (without VAT): €450,00 / $531,00 / £400,50
An abbey and its beer
Brussels – Bruxella, Urbs Aulicorum Frequentia, Fontium Copia, Magnificentia Principalis Aulae …,by Georg Braun and Frans HogenbergPrice (without VAT): €1 700,00 / $2 006,00 / £1 513,00
An invitation to actively discover the city’s jewels