Brussels (Jesuit college)
Date of first edition of this view: first edition of Volume II, 1663
Date of this view: either 1663 or 1726-1727
Dimensions (not including margins): 46,3 x 35,4 cm
Dimensions (including margins): 52,5 x 38, 3 cm
Condition: Very good. Sharp copper engraving on strong paper
Condition rating: A
From: Chorographia Sacra Brabantiae, first edition of book 1659, Sanderus
Sanderus shows a lost pearl in the city center
From the beginning of the 17th century settled several monasteries settled in the city quarter between the Sablon and the Coudenberg. In the wake of Alexander Farnese the Jesuits came to Brussels in 1585. Four years later they bought the “court of Grimbergen” and some neighboring homes in the Ruisbroeck street to refurnish to it as a monastery. In 1604 they opened there the Saint Michael College. The construction of a church (on the site of the current “Gerechtsplein)” followed only to be completed in 1660. The buildings are spread over the area where the Lebeau street passes. In the right background is the square of the Grand Sablon.
Sanderus was born in 1586 as Sanders.
Original title: Collegium Societas Iesu Bruxellis
Grimbergen (abbey) – Abbatia Grimbergensis celebris et Antiqua Ordinis Praemonstratensisby Antoon Sanderus, Renier BlokhuysenPrice (without VAT, possibly to be added): €450,00 / $549,00 / £387,00
An abbey and its beer
Brussels – Bruxella, Urbs Aulicorum Frequentia, Fontium Copia, Magnificentia Principalis Aulae …,by Georg Braun and Frans HogenbergPrice (without VAT, possibly to be added): €1 700,00 / $2 074,00 / £1 462,00
An invitation to actively discover the city’s jewels